TOBA Names Finalists for National Owner of the Year


The well-known Gary Barber silks | EquiSport Photos

The Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association (TOBA) has named its finalists for the TOBA National Owner of the Year. In alphabetical order, the five finalists are Gary Barber; Godolphin; Klaravich Stables; the partnership of Spendthrift Farm LLC, MyRaceHorse Stable, Madaket Stables LLC, and Starlight Racing; and Three Diamonds Farm.

The winner will be announced Saturday, Sept. 11, at the TOBA National Awards Dinner at Hill 'n' Dale at Xalapa in Paris, Ky. Motown legend Gladys Knight will perform.

TOBA will also honor breeders from 18 states and Canada, as well as the National Breeder of the Year and the National Small Breeder of the Year. Samantha Siegel will be presented with the TOBA Industry Service Award; Eclipse Thoroughbred Partners will receive the Cot Campbell Partnership of the Year Award; and John and Leslie Malone will receive the Robert N. Clay Award. Drumette (Henny Hughes) has been named National Broodmare of the Year; Frost or Frippery (Lewis Michael) will be honored as Claiming Crown Horse of the Year; and Kaytee Mountain (De Niro) will receive the Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year award.

“These owners, breeders, and horses exemplify the best of our sport and we are honored to be able to recognize their outstanding achievements,” said Dan Metzger, president of TOBA. “Hill 'n' Dale at Xalapa will present an incredible experience for what promises to be a memorable evening.”

Click here to participate in the online auction or to purchase tickets to the dinner.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Inaugural Big Data Derby Winner Announced
  2. Appleby Wins Second Consecutive Flat Trainers' Championship
  3. Fasig-Tipton Midlantic Caps Big Year with December Sale Tuesday
  4. Cody's Wish Wins 2022 Secretariat Vox Populi Award
  5. Malavath Moyglare-Bound After Record Day at Arqana

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.