Godolphin Among Those Honored At 38th TOBA Awards Saturday Night

Danny Mulvihill (left) with Jon Cozart | TOBA

Hosted by Fasig-Tipton, the 38th Annual Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association (TOBA) handed out its National Awards across two days of ceremonies, the organization said in a release late Saturday.

A luncheon for the winners was held on Friday, Sept. 8 at WinStar Farm, honoring State and Canadian Breeders of the Year for 2022.

Godolphin was announced as the winner of the 2022 National Owner of the Year and 2022 National Breeder of the Year. Finalists for both categories were also honored Saturday night.

National Owner of the Year finalists included: Peter M. Brant, Hronis Racing LLC, Klaravich Stables LLC, and Winchell Thoroughbreds LLC. National Breeder of the Year finalists included: Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings LLC and Summer Wind Equine.

Elizabeth M. Merryman won the 2022 National Small Breeder of the Year Award. Dreaming of Julia (A.P. Indy), owned by Barbara Banke's Stonestreet Farm, has been named National Broodmare of the Year. The Cot Campbell Partnership of the Year was presented to the owners of Flightline, which included Hronis Racing LLC, Siena Farm LLC, Summer Wind Equine LLC, West Point Thoroughbreds and Woodford Racing LLC. Michael Blowen was honored with the J. David Richardson Industry Service Award.

Invaluable was honored as Claiming Crown Horse of the Year, presented by the National HBPA. The Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year went to Satins Angel (Queen Satin). The Robert N. Clay Award, presented by Equine Land Conservation Resource, was awarded to Greg Goodman, which recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

“Congratulations to all of the winners of the TOBA national and state awards,” said Dan Metzger, president of TOBA. “We were honored to recognize the outstanding achievements of all of tonight's winners and finalists, including the amazing success of Godolphin as both National Owner and Breeder of the Year.”

2022 State and Canadian Breeders of the Year, sponsored by WinStar Farm, were:

Arizona Breeder of the Year – Fleming Thoroughbred Farm LLC (Marvin & Gerald Fleming)

Arkansas Breeder of the Year – Shortleaf Stable (John E. Anthony)

California Breeder of the Year – Nick Alexander

Canada Breeder of the Year – Adena Springs (Frank & Elfriede Stronach)

Canada Small Breeder of the Year – Flying Horse Farm (Russell & Lois Bennett)

Florida Breeder of the Year – Arindel Farm (Alan & Brian Cohen)

Indiana Breeder of the Year – Justice Farms, Inc. (Greg Justice)

Iowa Breeder of the Year – Poindexter Thoroughbreds, LLC (Allen Poindexter)

Kentucky Breeder of the Year – Godolphin

Louisiana Breeder of the Year – Allied Racing Stables LLC (Chester Thomas)

Maryland Breeder of the Year – Dance Forth Farm (Tom & Chris Bowman)

Minnesota Breeder of the Year – Lothenbach Stables (Robert Lothenbach)

New Jersey Breeder of the Year – Bright View Farm (Christine Connelly)

New Mexico Breeder of the Year – Bar Y Equine (Robert M. & DelRae Driggers)

New York Breeder of the Year – Chestertown Farm (Chester & Mary Broman)

North Carolina Breeder of the Year – Rockhouse Farm (Nancy Shuford)

Oregon Breeder of the Year – Lisa Baze

Pennsylvania Breeder of the Year – Elizabeth M. Merryman

South Carolina Breeder of the Year – Franklin G. Smith Sr.

Texas Breeder of the Year – Windy Hill (Ronald & Margaret Ellerbee)

Virginia Breeder of the Year – South Gate Farm (Amy Moore)

Washington Breeder of the Year – John E. Parker

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Owner Wycoff Splashes Home With Two Wins On Rain-Soaked Claiming Crown Card
  2. 'Rising Star' My Prankster To Stand At West Virginia's O'Sullivan Farms For 2024
  3. Maclean's Music Firster Frolics In the Mud at Aqueduct
  4. Liberal Arts A Ferraro Family Adventure
  5. Ramsey Seeks to Add to his Record 16 Claiming Crown Wins

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.