Finalists Announced For Irish GSSSA


Irish trophies | Godolphin

A total of 11 wild cards have been added to the Arqana Summer Sale on July 1. Comprised of nine horses-in-training, one in-foal mare and a black-type filly, the lots are from both Flat and National Hunt disciplines, with the highlight being G2 Italian 2000 Guineas hero Fayathaan (Ire) (Mehmas {Ire}) as lot 503. One of four from Roberto Biondi's Channel Consignment, the 3-year-old colt is joined by group winner Elisa Again (GB) (Champs Elysees {GB}) (lot 487); 2021 G2 Derby Italiano runner-up Juan de Montalban (Ire) (Lope de Vega {Ire}) (lot 488); and the black-type winner and G3 Italian St Leger-placed Agnes (Fr) (Planteur {Ire}) (lot 502). Another Flat lot of interest is Jean-Claude Rouget's lot 489, Darkness (Fr) (Siyouni {Fr}), a winner of the Listed Criterium de Lyon and third in the 2021 G3 Prix La Force. For the full catalogue for the June 30-July 1 sale, please visit


Finalists were revealed in eight of the 11 categories for the Irish Godolphin Stud an Stable Staff Awards, Horse Racing Ireland announced on Thursday. The awards, presented by Editor of the Racing Post Richard Forristal along with Racing TV's Fran Berry, will be broadcast on Racing TV at 11 a.m. on June 30. The finalists are:


Racing and Breeding Support Services Award

  • Cathy Healy, Office Manager, Healy Racing Photography, Co Kerry
  • Niall Kennedy, Owner Equestrian Laundry, Co Kildare
  • Helen O'Sullivan, Career Coach, Irish Jockeys' Trust, Co Kildare


Administration Award

  • Aoife Hanratty, Stud Secretary, Oghill House Stud, Co Kildare
  • Anne O'Connor, Racing Secretary, Michael Halford, Co Kildare
  • Marie Rowley, Racing Secretary, Pat Flynn, Co Waterford


Newcomer Award

  • Nicholas Cope, Stud Groom, Ballyphilip Stud, Co Limerick
  • Keith Lynam, Stud Groom, Ringford Stud, Co Offaly
  • Kelly Rae, Groom, Sarah Lynam, Co Meath


Horse Care Award

  • Jennifer Breslin, Assistant Broodmare Manager, Ballylinch Stud, Co Kilkenny
  • George Dobbs, Stud Hand, Staffordstown Stud, Co Meath
  • Emmett Raher, Head Lad, Henry de Bromhead, Co Waterford


In The Saddle Award

  • Ray Michael Cody, Head Lad, Ray P Cody, Co Kilkenny
  • David Glennon, Stable Lad, Dermot Weld, Co Kildare
  • Diarmuid Keeling, Exercise Rider & Groom, Willie Mullins, Co Carlow


Leadership Award (Stud)

  • Brian Delahunt, Stud Groom, Baroda Stud, Co Kildare
  • Caroline Hannon, Manager, Newtown Stud, Co Kildare
  • Agathe Lebailly, Stud Groom, Kilfrush Stud, Co Limerick


Leadership Award (Stable)

  • Adrien Bolger, Yard Manager, Jessica Harrington, Co Kildare
  • Damien Byrne, Team Leader, Joseph O'Brien, Co Kilkenny
  • Valerie Keatley, Head Girl, Johnny Murtagh, Co Kildare


Dedication to Racing and Breeding Award

  • Ger Brabston, Horsebox Driver, Derrinstown Stud, Co Kildare
  • David Flynn, Travelling Head Lad, Michael Grassick, Co Kildare
  • Michael Lyons, Second Man, Mount Coote Stud, Co Limerick

The IGSSS Racecourse Award is chosen by the Irish Stablestaff Association based on a programme survey, with the racecourse with the highest score claiming the award. The Irish Racing Excellence Award will be presented to one of the winners from the above categories, and there will also be a Special Recognition Award presented.

Joe Osborne, Managing Director, Godolphin Ireland, said: “All of us at Godolphin are proud to continue our association with these awards which have great support from the Irish racing and breeding sectors and from our fellow sponsors.”

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Exit Box x