David O'Farrell Elected Chairman of TOBA's Board of Trustees

David O'Farrell | Photos by Z 

David O'Farrell has been elected as chairman of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association's Board of Trustees. Also joining O'Farrell on the Board of Trustees to serve
three-year terms as new members are Joe Appelbaum, Michael Banahan, Everett Dobson, Mandy Pope and R. Glenn Sikura.

Re-elected to three-year terms were current trustees Shannon Arvin, Jeffrey Bloom, Marette Farrell, Brant Laue, Garrett O'Rourke, and Stephen Screnci.

“It's an honor and a privilege to lead an organization that deeply cares about the economics and integrity of horse racing on behalf of owners and breeders,” O'Farrell said.

Following its annual members meeting, the TOBA Board of Trustees met to elect officers for the association.

Officers named for 2023-2024 are: David O'Farrell, chairman, Everett Dobson, vice-chairman, Dan Metzger, president; Doug Cauthen, secretary; and Garrett O'Rourke, treasurer.

The TOBA Board also approved the appointment of Alex Solis II to the American Graded Stakes Committee.

The 2023-2024 committee is comprised of TOBA members Everett Dobson (chair), Barbara Banke, Walker Hancock, Brant Laue, David O'Farrell, and Alex Solis II and racing officials Dan Bork (Churchill Downs and Ellis Park) Frank Gabriel (NYRA), Rick Hammerle (Kentucky Downs), Chris Merz (Santa Anita Park), and Tora Yamaguchi (Del Mar).

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Latest Thoroughbred Owner Conference Virtual Panel Focuses On Industry Economics
  2. TOBA To Host National Awards Dinner At Fasig-Tipton Sept. 7
  3. 19 Elected Breeders' Cup Members
  4. TOBA Announces Peak Biologics Sponsorship
  5. OwnerView Thoroughbred Conference Virtual Series Covers Owners Resources

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.