Thoroughbred Daily News
Union Rags Dixie Union - Tempo, by Gone West
Lane's End Versailles, KY | 2009 | Entered Stud 2013 | 2019 Fee $60,000

The Series Details Unveiled by Championship Horse Racing


The Series, a new addition to the flat racing calendar that will see branded teams compete in 48 races across eight racecourses in England, Ireland and Scotland, which was announced in Febuary, moved one step closer to reality as Championship Horse Racing revealed more details on Thursday. Scheduled to be held on eight consecutive Thursday evening from July 25-Sept. 12, The Series will take place at Ayr, Epsom Downs, Goodwood, Haydock Park, Leopardstown, Newbury, Newmarket July Course and Sandown Park. Races will be worth over £100,000 each, and will be in addition to the British Racing Fixture List, requiring approval of the British Horseracing Association. Each team will have a racing manager, four jockeys and a squad of 30 horses.

Jeremy Wray, Chief Executive of CHR, said, “Agreeing the likely racecourse schedule is a key milestone for CHR. Over the next few months we’ll be announcing the teams and the media partners who will broadcast The Series across the world. They are great locations and have superb facilities for summer evening racing that promises fans something they’ve never experienced before. Fans will be encouraged to engage with the teams and our aim is to help tell the stories about the10s of thousands of people involved in the sport.”

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.