Pillars of the Turf

Oak Tree To Team With Del Mar To Honor Hirsch Aug. 3

The Oak Tree Racing Association and the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club will partner this summer for a special day Aug. 3 to honor the late Clement L. Hirsch, who will be inducted this year into racing's Hall of Fame in the Pillars of the Turf category, the racetrack said in a release on Thursday. Hirsch's induction ceremony, with members of his family in attendance, will take place in Saratoga Springs, New York on Friday, Aug. 2. The following day, Del Mar will present Oak Tree Day at the Races featuring...

[ Read More ]
2022 HOF Class Headed by Beholder, Tepin

Eight new members have been elected to the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame, including Eclipse Award winners Beholder (Henny Hughes) and Tepin (Bernstein) in the contemporary category, both chosen in their first year of eligibility. The other members of the class of 2022 are divisional stalwarts Hillsdale (Take Away) and Royal Heroine (Ire) (Lypheor {GB}) and, via the Historic Review Committee, Classic-winning trainer Oscar White. Among the Pillars of the Turf, owner/breeding/official James Cox Brady, track announcer and official Marshall Cassidy and renowned owner/breeder James Ben Ali...

[ Read More ]

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.