Porter-Mackrell Named Employee of the Year at TIEA Awards

David Porter-Mackrell | Newsells photo

Newsells Park Stud's David Porter-Mackrell was named the Employee of the Year at the 2024 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards, sponsored by Godolphin, at Ascot Racecourse on Monday. The gala marked the 20th anniversary of the awards, which was attended by Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal and hosted by ITV Racing's Ed Chamberlin. The event, celebrating the contribution of racing's workforce to British racing, saw a total of £128,500 in prize money handed out across six categories.

With Newsells the last 15 years, head stallion man Porter-Mackrell was nominated by the operation's general manager, Julian Dollar.

“David is a richly deserving recipient of the Employee of the Year Award and we are all delighted that somebody with such talent and passion has won,” said Nick Luck, Chair of the judging panel. “The judges were blown away by David during their interviews with him and were left in no doubt that he is an exceptional horseman with a gift for ensuring the stallions at Newsells Park Stud are in the best condition possible, both physically and mentally.”

He added, “It is also wonderful to see a member of stud staff win the top prize this evening. Our breeding industry is vital to the overall success of the sport we love and I hope that David's success will encourage more studs to nominate their employees for the 2025 awards.”

Joe Saumarez Smith, Chair of the British Horseracing Authority, commented, “This evening's ceremony was a wonderful occasion, made all the more special by the presence of Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal. I am sure she, like I, greatly enjoyed the privilege of spending time with those who do such wonderful work to ensure that thoroughbreds in Britain receive world-class care and attention and I would like to take the opportunity to thank them all.”

As a result of his win, Porter-Mackrell took home £10,000 of prize money, plus an additional £10,000 which will be shared among his colleagues at Newsells Park Stud. Earlier in the ceremony, Porter-Mackrell also won the Stud Staff Award, which itself carried a £5,000 prize along with a £5,000 for his colleagues.

The awards were organised by the British Horseracing Authority, in conjunction with media partners Racing Post and Racing TV.


The finalists for each category (with winners in bold):

David Nicholson Newcomer Award

Bethan Nelson (Warren Greatrex)

Molly Roberts (Ed Walker)

Hollie Wiltshire (Alan King)



Cheryl Armstrong (Charlie Fellowes)

Andrew McIntyre (William Haggas)

Eamonn O'Donnabhain (Tom Lacey)


Rider/Racing Groom

Vicki Boyle-Atkins (Richard Phillips)

Lyndsey Bull (Ian Williams)

Alice Kettlewell (Karl Burke)


Stud Staff

Noel Challinor (Northmore Stud)

Jack Conroy (Chasemore Farm)

David Porter-Mackrell (Newsells Park Stud)



Andrea Kelly (Tim Vaughan)

Linda Murphy (Rae Guest)

Brian Taylor (Luck Greayer Shipping)


Community Award

Joanne Flaherty (Chelmsford City Racecourse)

David Letts (Racing With Pride)

Lauren Semple (Police Scotland/Scottish Racing Academy)


Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Godolphin Pays One Million Guineas For Galileo Colt At Tattersalls
  2. Breeding Digest: The Real Dazzle Behind Encino
  3. Ottoman Fleet Registers Second Earl Of Sefton Success On European Return
  4. Appleby Honing Classic Team as Arabian Crown has Racecourse Gallop
  5. Tuesday's Observations: Frankel's Half-Brother Returns at Newmarket

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.