Oaklawn to Honor Hall of Famers

Chris McCarron | Coady

Oaklawn will host its first even Hall of Fame Day Apr. 16. The day, honoring members of the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame, will be highlighted by several special events, including winner's circle presentations. The feature race will be the GIII Count Fleet Sprint H. Race fans will receive a commemorative poster while supplies last, and an autograph session with Hall of Fame members will take place on the north end of the Grandstand from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

“There are only a few other racing towns that can garner the enthusiasm and love for racing as Hot Springs, Arkansas, and we know this event will be a huge hit among our fans,” Oaklawn President Louis Cella said. “We are excited by the response we have received from the Hall of Fame members in the first year of this event, and we look forward to honoring some of our industry's greats.”

Scheduled to appear are 11-time Oaklawn leading trainer Steve Asmussen, Bill Boland, Calvin Borel, Ramon Dominguez, Earlie Fires, Sandy Hawley, Chris McCarron, Bill Mott, Don Pierce, Laffit Pincay Jr., Edgar Prado, Jose Santos, Gary Stevens and Nick Zito.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Steve Asmussen Plans Big Season for Skelly
  2. Easy Win for California Shipper Adare Manor in Apple Blossom
  3. Last Chance at the Big Dance: Hades Can Punch Kentucky Derby Ticket in Lexington
  4. Jockeys and Jeans Adds Prado, Teinowitz and Bandoroff
  5. The Kentucky Oaks Top 10 for April 11

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.