NYTHA's Dionne Johnson Named Finalist for Administration Award


Dionne Johnson | Courtesy of TIEA

Congratulations to Dionne Johnson, one of three finalists in the Administration Award category of the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards (TIEA), presented by Godolphin. Currently the business manager for New York Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association (NYTHA), Johnson has been with the organization for 37 years. She is involved in multiple NYTHA committees, including the Scholarship Committee, which has donated over $1.6 million in scholarships to over 500 children of backside workers over the past decade.

“She has quite literally been the backbone of [NYTHA] for more than a decade,” said nominator Andy Belfiore.

Click for the video feature on Johnson done by TIEA.

Other finalists for the Administration Award are Lynnelle Fox Smith of Oregon Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association (OTOBA) and Michele Holbrook of Silver Springs Stud. The Administration Award is presented annually to an individual in an administrative role in the racing or breeding industry or to someone in a support service within the Thoroughbred industry.

A total of seven award categories will be honored by TIEA for 2020. Maria Cristina Silva of NYTHA has already been announced as the winner of the Community Award, while the winners in the other categories will be announced live in a virtual ceremony hosted by Jill Byrne and streamed at the TDN homepage Thursday, Nov. 5, at 12:00 p.m. ET. All finalists have been spotlighted in TDN over the past weeks.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. TAKE2 to Recognize Tbred Hunter, Jumper Divisions at USEF Shows
  2. Over 100 Submissions for Inaugural Big Data Derby
  3. NYTHA Hires Marie Kizenko as Communications Manager
  4. Godolphin Announces 2022 TIEA Award Winners
  5. Finalists Announced for 2022 TIEA Awards

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.