National Owner of the Year Finalists Announced

eFive Racing, Godolphin, Juddmonte Farms, Rockingham Ranch and the partnership of Winchell Thoroughbreds and Three Chimneys Farm have been named as the finalists for the National Owner of the Year, officials at the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association announced Wednesday. The winner will be announced at TOBA's National Awards Dinner, to be held Saturday, Sept. 8, at the Woodford Reserve Club at Kroger Field in Lexington.

TOBA will also recognize breeders of the year from 23 states as well as Canada, while the national breeder of the year will be revealed at the Awards Dinner.

Win Approval (With Approval), the dam of last year's GI Breeders' Cup Mile hero in addition to three other major graded winners, was named national broodmare of the year and Mended (Broken Vow), a former $12,500 claimer who three starts back earned Grade I black-type, will be crowned Claiming Crown Horse of the Year, sponsored by the National HBPA.

Additionally, the Rood & Riddle Sport Horse of the Year will go to Arglye, owned by Skyeler Voss, and owner/breeder George Strawbridge will receive the Robert N. Clay Award, which recognizes a member of the Thoroughbred community who has made an outstanding contribution to preserving land for equine use.

Tickets for the TOBA National Awards Dinner can be purchased at or by calling Meredith Downey at (859) 276-6793.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link


Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.