National Museum Of Racing Updates Hall Of Fame Historic Review Committee Process

National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame | NMRHOF

The National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame's Executive Committee has approved changes regarding the institution's Historic Review committee process based on feedback received from the chair and members, the institution said in a Friday release.

Beginning this year, the Historic Review Committee will start an annual rotation to examine a specific era of American racing history. Only candidates from within the designated era will be considered for Hall of Fame induction during that year's review process.

Previously, the Historic Review Committee met three out of every four years and considered all candidates from throughout history dating back to the colonial days as a collective exercise (as long as they have been out of competition more than 25 years).

In 2024, the Historic Review Committee will consider only pre-1900 horses, jockeys, and trainers. In 2025, the Committee will review candidates from the era of 1900 through 1959. In 2026, it will examine the years of 1960 through 2000. The process will cycle back to pre-1900 candidates in 2027. All qualified candidates active within the past 25 years are eligible to be considered through the separate annual contemporary nomination and election process.

The Historic Review Committee can select a maximum of three Hall of Fame inductees per year–any combination of horses, jockeys, and trainers–and requires each of those choices to receive 75 percent approval from the committee for election.

“I believe these changes will make for a more effective evaluation process for historic candidates being considered for the Hall of Fame,” said Brien Bouyea, the Museum's Hall of Fame and Communications Director. “Evaluating the achievements of a horse or human from before 1900 alongside one from perhaps a century later is an apples vs. oranges exercise that we wanted to improve upon.”

Chaired by author and racing historian Michael Veitch, the Pre-1900 Historic Review Committee will also include Edward L. Bowen, Ken Grayson, Jennifer Kelly, Dorothy Ours, Josh Pons, Mary Simon and Gary West.

The 2024 Hall of Fame class, which will also include the contemporary electees and selections made by the Pillars of the Turf Committee, will be announced in late April.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Museum of Racing Hosts Derby Preview Panel
  2. National Museum of Racing Offers Saratoga Farm Tours
  3. Iroquois Steeplechase Introduces Groom's Bonuses
  4. Blue Grass Stakes Exhibit Opens at Keeneland Library in April
  5. 2024 National Horseplayers Championship Official Prize Structure Released, Leaderboard Links Available

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.