KEEP, RFE Announce 2020 Scholarship Winners


Officials at the Kentucky Equine Education Project (KEEP) and the Race For Education (RFE) have announced the recipients of scholarships for 2020. A total of $21,000 in scholarships was approved by the KEEP Foundation board of directors and will be distributed among 18 students attending 10 institutions within the Commonwealth of Kentucky. All are currently enrolled in an equine and/or, agriculture related major or a horse-related program.

In addition to the 18 Kentucky students, RFE awarded its Robert J. Frankel Scholarship to New York student Elsa Loriel. The Frankel Award is given to a student attending university in California or New York and whose family is employed in the Thoroughbred industry. Loriel's father is a long-time assistant to Shug McGaughey, while her mother is an exercise rider for Christophe Clement.

KEEP and RFE awarded the RFE/KEEP Veterinary Scholarship for the first time. The 2020 recipient is Lacey Willis, a native of Warren County and graduate of Western Kentucky University who enters veterinary school this fall at Auburn.

“Having a group of quality students interested in equine careers from around the country, attending universities in Kentucky, truly represents the statewide nature of our industry”, said Elisabeth Jensen, KEEP's Executive Vice President.

2020 Race For Education KEEP Foundation Scholarship

Dylan Abrams: Grant County–Midway University

Celene Correa: Jefferson County–Jefferson Community & Technical College

Savannah House: Kansas–Morehead State University

Emily Monroe: Jessamine County–University of Kentucky

Zoey Norris: Adair County–Campbellsville University

Maria Oachs: Wisconsin–University of Kentucky

Rashea Smith: Whitley County–Auburn University

Madeline Sparks: Harrison County–Midway University

Landon Thompson: Taylor County–Asbury University

Maggie Welch: Hardin County–University of Kentucky

2020 4H 'Leg Up' Scholarship

Mackenzie Coil: Marshall County–Murray State University

Anya Deaton: Campbell County–University of Kentucky

Lydia Deaton: Campbell County–University of Kentucky

Alina Knore: Bourbon County–Murray State University

Madeline Queen: Campbell County–Murray State University

Sydney Simpson: Henderson County–Murray State University

Ashley Terrill: Shelby County–University of Kentucky

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.


Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.