Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony to be Held August 5


Beholder heads a stellar class of 2022 Hall of Fame inductees Benoit

The National Museum of Racing will induct the 2022 Hall of Fame class Friday, Aug. 5 at Fasig-Tipton. The event is slated to begin at 10:30 a.m. Tom Durkin will serve as the master of ceremonies. The event is open to the public and free to attend. The ceremony will also be broadcast live on the Museum website at racingmuseum.org. A stellar class of inductees comprises the 2022 ceremony, namely four-time Eclipse Award winner Beholder (Henny Hughes); Hillsdale (Take Away), who is also the first Indiana-bred in the Hall of Fame; 1984 Eclipse Turf Female Champion Royal Heroine (Ire); and G1 Queen Anne S. conqueror, two-time Eclipse Award winner Tepin (Bernstein). Trainer Oscar White is the sole human inductee along with Pillars of the Turf James Cox Brady, Marshall Cassidy, and James Ben Ali Haggin.

Several current Hall of Famers will take part in a special autograph signing at the Museum on Saturday, Aug. 6 from 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. The following members are scheduled to participate (subject to change): Braulio Baeza, Mark Casse, Ramon Dominguez, Janet Elliot, Earlie Fires, Sandy Hawley, Richard Mandella, Jose Santos, Gary Stevens, and Nick Zito. For $25, fans will receive a commemorative 2022 Hall of Fame induction weekend poster for the members to sign. There will only be 100 posters for this event and they are available on a first-come, first served basis. Admission to the Museum will be free from 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Mr. Big Filly Tops 'Solid' Fasig-Tipton California Sale
  2. Fasig-Tipton October Catalogue Released
  3. Fasig California Sale To Be Held Tuesday
  4. Bidding Open For Final Phase of Todd Dispersal
  5. Cezanne Euthanized Due to Fungal Infection

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.