Hall of Fame Finalists Announced


Wise Dan | Coglianese

Six racehorses, four trainers, and one jockey make up the 11 finalists to be included on the National Museum of Racing's 2020 Hall of Fame ballot. The list, released Monday, includes racehorses Blind Luck, Game On Dude (first year of eligibility), Havre de Grace, Kona Gold, Rags to Riches, and Wise Dan (first year of eligibility); trainers Mark Casse, Christophe Clement, Doug O'Neill, and David Whiteley; and jockey Corey Nakatani.
The finalists were selected by the Hall of Fame's Nominating Committee from a total of 91 initial candidates suggested by turf journalists, Thoroughbred industry participants, and racing fans. Chaired by Edward L. Bowen, the committee is comprised of Bowen, Steven Crist, Tom Durkin, Bob Ehalt, Tracy Gantz, Teresa Genaro, Jane Goldstein, Steve Haskin, Jay Hovdey, Tom Law, Neil Milbert, Jay Privman, John Sparkman, Michael Veitch, John von Stade, and Charlotte Weber.
Hall of Fame voters may select as many or as few candidates as they believe are worthy of induction to the Hall of Fame. All candidates that receive 50% plus one vote of the voting panel will be elected to the Hall of Fame. All of the finalists were required to receive support from two-thirds of the Nominating Committee to qualify for the ballot.
Hall of Fame ballots were mailed Monday and results of the voting on the contemporary candidates will be announced May 6. That announcement will also include this year's selections by the Museum's Historic Review and Pillars of the Turf committees.
The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held at the Fasig-Tipton Sales Pavilion in Saratoga Springs Aug. 7 at 10:30 a.m. The ceremony will be open to the public and is free to attend.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Friday Racing Insights: $535k Curlin Filly Unveiled At Ellis
  2. Moira Heads Colts at Queen's Plate Draw
  3. Big Invasion Effortless Winner of Mahony Stakes
  4. Reeves On a Roll at Saratoga
  5. Havre de Grace's Saint Tapit Goes Two-for-Two at the Spa

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.