France Galop Committee Set; Presidential Selection Next

Nicolas de Chambure, right, represents the French TBA on the Committee of France Galop | Emma Berry


As is the case every four years, the approximately 9,000 members of the France Galop Association, in charge of horse racing in France, voted from Friday to Tuesday to elect their representatives within the institution. These representatives are categorised as owners, breeders, trainers, and jockeys.

In total, 7,926 votes were counted, 15% fewer than in 2019 when electronic voting was first introduced.

Among the owners, two lists gained one seat each: Alliance Galop went from two to three elected representatives, while the Association of Trainers-Owners (AEP) now has two representatives, compared to just one in this category in 2019.

Among the breeders, the French Thoroughbred Breeders' Association leads with 43.3% of the 1,528 votes and gains a fourth representative, while Alliance Galop maintains its three seats.

These three associations secured 15 of the 18 available seats in these two main categories. Alliance Galop, which participated in its first elections in 2019, brings together many figures from the jumping world but not only, as this year it welcomed more Flat owners and breeders, including Anthony Baudouin (Haras du Hoguenet), who led the list of breeders.

The Thoroughbred Breeders Federation is a traditional player on the French and European scene. The list was led by Pierric Rouxel (Haras de Maulepaire), but Loïc Malivet has been the association president for 12 years. Loïc Malivet, Vice President of France Galop, could not run in the election due to reaching the age limit (72 years). Haras d'Etreham's Nicolas de Chambure was also elected on the French TBA's list.

The third winning list is the Association of Trainers-Owners, created by highly involved professionals often cumulating functions, as their name suggests. Probably more radical in its approach, it benefited this year from the support of Philippe Germond, President of PMU (French Tote) from 2009 to 2014, who was elected among the owners.

In the trainers' category, Nicolas Clément and Gabriel Leenders were elected for the Trainers Association, while Cédric Boutin and Isabelle Gallorini will represent AEP, bringing the representation of this organisation to five seats.

Thierry Gillet, the sole candidate among the jockeys, remains their representative.

The regional representatives of France Galop members were also elected during this vote. On November 30, the regional bodies where these local representatives sit will, in turn, designate their five representatives to the France Galop Committee, bringing the total number of elected members on the Committee to 28. The Committee consists of 56 members, with the rest being co-opted members, racecourse presidents, or regional council members.

This newly formed Committee will convene for the first time on Tuesday, December 12, 2023, to elect the new President of France Galop, as Edouard de Rothschild steps down after 16 years in charge. Upon the proposal of the next President, Vice Presidents for Flat and Jumps, as well as the other nine members of the Board of Directors, will be elected for four years.

Detailed results can be found on the France Galop website.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Saint-Alary Loses G1 Tag as Europe Drops 12 Stakes Races
  2. Elie Hennau is New Head of France Galop
  3. France Galop Committee Adds Voting Members
  4. Polytrack Is The Sponsor Of A New All-Weather Challenge In France
  5. Olivier Delloye Returns To Arqana as Chairman of the Management Board

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.