Five Horseplayers Named to NHC Hall of Fame


Action at the 2020 NHC | Horsephotos

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) selected five handicappers for induction to the NTRA National Horseplayers Championship (NHC)'s Hall of Fame: Stanley Bavlish, Michael Beychok, David Gutfreund, Paul Matties, Jr., and the late J. Randy Gallo. The five horseplayers are the eighth class of inductees and will be recognized during the 22nd NHC Champions Dinner Jan. 30. The dinner will be held at the conclusion of the NHC, which is presented by Racetrack Television Network, Caesars Entertainment, and Bally's Las Vegas.

Honorees were chosen by their peers and join 14 past NHC Hall of Fame inductees. Criteria for nomination includes having competed in NHC-sanctioned tournaments; having played consistently well over an extended period of time; having gained the respect of peers; and having contributed to the overall growth and success of NHC tournament play, with indelible positive and lasting results.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Baffert, Horseplayers Spar Anew in Class-Action Derby Suit
  2. Kinchen Suspended From NHC Tour For Two Years
  3. Harrison Crowned NHC Champ; Kinchen DQd
  4. Kentucky State Rep. Adam Koenig Discusses Breakage Bill On Writers' Room
  5. Bettor Suing Baffert Leaving the Racing Game

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.