Drumette Named Broodmare of the Year


Drumette | ThoroStride

Drumette (Henny Hughes), dam of last year's champion older mare Monomoy Girl (Tapizar) as well as GII Risen Star S. winner Mr. Monomoy (Palace Malice), has been named the 2020 Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Broodmare of the Year. Both Monomoy Girl and Mr. Monomoy were bred by Frankfort Park Farm and Michael Hernon's Highfield Ranch, who sold for $1.85 million in foal to Mastery to Bridlewood Farm at the 2018 Fasig-Tipton November sale.

GI Kentucky Derby and GI Longines Breeders' Cup Classic winner Authentic (Into Mischief) was named Kentucky-Bred Horse of the Year and Champion Three-Year-Old Male. For the complete list of 2020 KTOB award winners, their sires and breeders, see below:

  • Broodmare of the Year: Drumette (Henny Hughes, Bridlewood Farm)
  • Horse of the Year, Three-Year-Old Male: Authentic (Into Mischief, Peter E. Blum Thoroughbreds, LLC)
  • Two-Year-Old Male: Essential Quality (Tapit, Godolphin)
  • Two-Year-Old Filly: Vequist (Nyquist, Swilcan Stables)
  • Three-Year-Old Filly: Swiss Skydiver (Daredevil, WinStar Farm, LLC)
  • Older Dirt Male: Improbable (St. George Farm LLC & G. Watts Humphrey Jr.)
  • Older Dirt Female: Monomoy Girl (Tapizar, FPF LLC & Highfield Ranch)
  • Male Turf Horse: War of Will (War Front, Flaxman Holdings Limited)
  • Female Turf Horse: Rushing Fall (More Than Ready, Fred W. Hertrich III & John D. Fielding)
  • Male Sprinter: Whitmore (Pleasantly Perfect, John Liviakis)
  • Female Sprinter: Gamine (Into Mischief, Grace Thoroughbred Holdings)
  • Racing Abroad: Kameko (Kitten's Joy, Calumet Farm)
  • Steeplechase Horse: Snap Decision (Hard Spun, Phipps Stable)

Four 2020 Merit Awards will be presented at the KTOB luncheon:

  • P.A.B. Widener Trophy for KTOB Breeder of the Year: Godolphin
  • Hardboot Breeders' Award pays tribute to distinctive but unsung breeders that help make up the backbone of our industry: Beau Lane
  • Charles W. Engelhard Award acknowledges a member of the media for outstanding coverage of the Thoroughbred industry: Donna Barton Brothers
  • William T. Young Humanitarian Award distinguishes a person or organization in the Thoroughbred industry “who recognizes and promotes the human endeavor”: Blue Grass Farms Charities

The top Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Fund (KTDF) earners in five categories will also receive awards:

  • KTDF Sire of the Year: Into Mischief (Spendthrift Farm)
  • KTDF Earner of the Year: Arklow (Donegal Racing, Joseph Bulger & Peter Coneway)
  • KTDF Owner of the Year: Kenneth L. & Sarah K. Ramsey
  • KTDF Trainer of the Year: Brad Cox
  • KTDF Breeder of the Year: Calumet Farm

Recipients of the 2020 KTOB Kentucky-Bred Champion awards were voted on by the full membership of KTA/KTOB while the KTDF category leaders were tabulated using purse money won at KY racetracks in 2020. KTOB merit award recipients were voted on by the KTA/KTOB Board of Directors.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Sunday Insights: Latest 'Monomoy' Sibling Debuts In New Orleans
  2. Book Review: Secretariat's Offspring Agonistes
  3. 2023 Mating Plans, Presented by Spendthrift: Coteau Grove Farms
  4. Broodmare of the Year Sweet Life Dies
  5. Frank Brothers To Retire

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.