24 Candidates Up For BC Election



Twenty-four members of the racing industry are on the ballot for the election of 20 Breeders' Cup members. On May 27, the Breeders' Cup Election website will open for 2021 Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominators to begin the voting process. Of the 24 candidates on the ballot, 17 are incumbent members standing for re-election. The 20 individuals receiving the most votes will each serve a term of four years.

Members are elected every other year by Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are a total of 39 elected Breeders' Cup members. The members meet each July and elect individuals to the Breeders' Cup Board of Directors, which oversees the activities of the organization.

The 24 candidates for the members election are: Rory Babbich, Michael Levinson, Antony Beck*, M.V. Magnier*, Gatewood Bell*, Patrice M. Miller, Christian Black, Pope McLean, Jr.*, Case Clay*, Gavin Murphy*, Alan Cooper*, Garrett O'Rourke*, Everett Dobson*, Alex Payne, William S. Farish, Jr.*, Mike Pons*, H. Greg Goodman*, Daisy Phipps Pulito*, Jonathan Green, Jaime Roth*, Fred W. Hertrich, III*, Tom Ryan*, Jak Knelman*, Shunsuke Yoshida. (*Denotes Member standing for re-election).

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Clement Puts Faith In Pizza Bianca Bouncing Back From Ascot Disappointment
  2. Ce Ce Romps in Princess Rooney Title Defense
  3. This Side Up: Desert Turns Up Heat On Parched Calendar
  4. Life Is Good Headlines Star-Studded Saturday of Racing
  5. Letter to the Editor: `I'm Skipping the Breeders' Cup'

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.