19 Elected Breeders' Cup Members

Breeders' Cup trophy | Horsephotos

Nineteen individuals have been elected Breeders' Cup Members by 2023 Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominators in voting that concluded Monday evening. Each Member will serve a four-year term.

The following individuals, listed alphabetically, received the most votes from the Breeders' Cup nominators to fill 19 Member seats: Conrad Bandoroff, Maria Niarchos-Gouaze, Barbara Banke, David O'Farrell, Boyd Browning, Bernie Sams, Doug Cauthen, Alex Solis II, Matt Dorman, Edward (Ned) Toffey, Craig Fravel, Elliott Walden, Eric Gustavson, Barry Weisbord, Bret Jones, Aron Wellman, Gray Lyster, Jacob West, and Clem Murphy.

The elected include three new members: Dorman, Toffey and West.

“The knowledge and insights provided by Breeders' Cup Members prove key in our continued efforts to enhance the Breeders' Cup World Championships and our incentive programs while increasing the safety and integrity of our great sport to the benefit of all,” said Banke, Chairman of the Breeders' Cup Board of Directors. “I congratulate those who were newly elected or reelected to serve the Breeders' Cup over the next four years and look forward to working with them.”

The Breeders' Cup Members are elected every other year by Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are a total of 39 elected Breeders' Cup Members. The Members meet each July and elect individuals to the Breeders' Cup Board of Directors, which oversees the activities of the organization.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Liable, Dam of Blame, Dies at 29
  2. Trainer Wayne Catalano Celebrates 3,000 Career Wins Sunday
  3. How Spendthrift Got Dornoch: A Q&A With Ned Toffey
  4. Inaugural Keeneland Championship Sale Set For Wednesday Of Breeders' Cup Week
  5. Saturday Sires: Complexity

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.