Irish National Hunt Champions

Jack Kennedy Takes Tight Jockeys' Race As Irish NH Champions Crowned At Punchestown

The 2023/2024 Irish National Hunt champions were crowned at Punchestown on Saturday, Horse Racing Ireland (HRI) announced. After a close tussle, Jack Kennedy earned his first Irish Champion Jockey title, just edging out Paul Townend, who was aiming for his seventh year-end award. The full list of champions for the 2023/2024 National Hunt season are as follows: Champion Owner: JP McManus Champion Trainer: Willie Mullins Champion Jockey: Jack Kennedy Champion Conditional: Danny Gilligan Champion Amateur: Patrick Mullins Champion Lady Amateur: Jody Townend HRI chief executive, Suzanne Eade, said, "It has...

[ Read More ]
'It's A Huge Team Effort' — As Mullins Wraps Up Another Irish NH Championship

Six Irish National Hunt champions, including Willie Mullins, will be presented with their end-of-season awards at Punchestown on Saturday. Charlie McConalogue, Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, will be on hand at the course to distribute the honours. Trainer Willie Mullins was named the Irish NH Champion Trainer for the 17th time. He saddled his 4,000th career winner in January and sets a new record for the number of winners in a NH season having surpassed his previous best of 212, set in the 2017/2018 season. The trainer of...

[ Read More ]

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.