Board of Directors

Six New Board Members Join Thoroughbred Owners Of CA BOD

Six new members were elected to the Board of the Thoroughbred Owners of California the organization announced Monday. Owner and trainer Mark Glatt, owner/breeder Ty Green, owner/trainer Ryan Hanson, owner/breeder John Harris, current finance committee member Stephanie Hronis and 2021's California Trainer of the Year Andy Mathis will begin their respective terms July 1, 2024. They will join current members Nick Alexander, Gary Barber, Joe Ciaglia, Tim Cohen, Matthew Dohman, Gary Fenton, Bob Liewald, Terry Lovingier and Samantha Siegel for the 2024-2025 year.

[ Read More ]
FTBOA Reelects George Isaacs as President

George Isaacs, general manager of Ocala's Bridlewood Farm, has been reelected as the Florida Thoroughbred Breeders' and Owners' Association (FTBOA) president, according to a release put out by the organization Wednesday. Following the annual member meeting, the FTBOA held a board meeting and also named Rustlewood Farm's George Russell the first vice president, Summerfield's Francis Vanlangendonck the second vice president, Ocala Stud's Joseph M. O'Farrell as treasurer, and Nick de Meric, who operates de Meric Stables and Sales, as secretary. "I have been fortunate to lead FTBOA at a time...

[ Read More ]
Keeneland Names Spendthrift's Eric Gustavson To Board of Directors

Eric Gustavson, who with his wife Tamara Hughes Gustavson own Spendthrift Farm, has been named to Keeneland's Advisory Board of Directors, the association said in a press release Thursday. Gustavson has played a pivotal role in restoring Spendthrift Farm's position as one of the world's premier Thoroughbred breeding operations. He is also a member of The Jockey Club and Breeders' Cup Board of Directors. "We welcome Eric Gustavson to the Keeneland Board, where his business skill and marketing acumen will be instrumental as we meet the opportunities and challenges of...

[ Read More ]
Dr. Stowe Burke, DVM Joins TRF Board Of Directors

The Thoroughbred Retirement Foundation has appointed Dr. Stowe Burke, DVM, a Saratoga Springs native, to its Board of Directors. "I am deeply honored to join the Board of Directors at TRF," said Dr. Stowe Burke. "My lifelong passion for horses has guided my career path and I am thrilled to contribute to an organization that shares my dedication to the welfare of these magnificent animals." TRF Executive Director Kelly Armer expressed her excitement at Dr. Burke's appointment: "Dr. Stowe's exceptional background and commitment to equine care make him a valuable...

[ Read More ]
Thoroughbred Charities of America Appoints Four New Directors

Thoroughbred Charities of America (TCA) has appointed Morgan Richardson, Liam O'Rourke, Dan Metzger and Jesse Ullery to its Board of Directors. "Many thanks to Lesley Campion, who did a great job of chairing the TCA nominations committee," said Mike McMahon president of TCA. "We have four great new board members to add to our power packed group of industry professionals. I love this board. These people give horses and the people who care for them so much time and effort. They are all-stars and with talent like this, we will...

[ Read More ]
Beck, Jones and Cooper Re-Elected To Breeders' Cup Board

Antony Beck (Gainesway Farm), Alan Cooper (Niarchos Family/Flaxman Holdings Ltd.) and Bret Jones (Airdrie Stud) were each re-elected to serve a four-year term on the Breeders' Cup Board, the organization said in a release Wednesday afternoon. "We congratulate Antony, Alan and Bret upon their re-election to the Board," said Barbara Banke, Chairman of Breeders' Cup Limited. "We look forward to their continued advice and counsel to the Company in many important initiatives, including critical areas of equine safety and welfare and further enhancing the growth and international impact of the...

[ Read More ]
New Board Members for TOC

Gary Barber, Gary Fenton, Terry Lovingier, Tim Cohen, and Matt Dohman have been elected to three-year terms for the Thoroughbred Owners of California (TOC)'s Board of Directors and will take office July 1. They will join Nick Alexander, Joe Ciaglia, Rick Gold, Ryan Hanson, Stephanie Hronis, Lindsey LaRoche, Bob Liewald, Ed Moger, Samantha Siegel, and Johnny Taboada as TOC's 2023-24 Board. Richard Rosenberg, a former board member of the California Horse Racing Board (CHRB), has agreed to stay on with the organization as an appointed member of the Integrity &...

[ Read More ]
Schwabe, Grant Appointed to Woodbine Committees Board of Directors

Woodbine Entertainment announced the addition of long-time Thoroughbred breeder Yvonne Schwabe and perennial leading Standardbred owner and breeder Brad Grant to committees for its Board of Directors. Schwabe will serve on the Thoroughbred Racing Committee, while Grant joins the Standardbred Racing Committee. Schwabe, a breeder for over 25 years and is the owner of Persley Den Farms in Acton, Ontario, notably bred 2013 Queen's Plate winner Midnight Aria. In addition to her successful breeding operation, Schwabe is a former director and current Funding Chair for the Thoroughbred Aftercare Alliance. She...

[ Read More ]
Hugh Mitchell Appointed to Chair of Woodbine Entertainment's Board of Directors

Woodbine Entertainment's Board of Directors has appointed long-time executive in the horse racing industry Hugh Mitchell as Chair, effective immediately. Mitchell was appointed to the position during Woodbine Entertainment's Annual General Meeting earlier Friday. As Chair of the Board of Directors, Mitchell will provide leadership, guidance and governance as Woodbine Entertainment fulfills its mandate to sustain and grow horse racing in Ontario. This includes further strengthening the racing product at Woodbine and Woodbine Mohawk Park. Mitchell, who has been on Woodbine Entertainment's Board of Directors since 2018, was most recently...

[ Read More ]
Breeders' Cup Members Election Voting Approaching Deadline

Voting for the 2022 Breeders' Cup Members election will close Monday, June 6 at 5 p.m. ET. All eligible voting nominators have been sent voting instructions and have until the Monday deadline to submit their votes online. Votenet, an election services company, will administer the Member Election voting process. There are 24 individuals on the ballot for the election of 20 Breeders' Cup Members. Of the 24 candidates on the ballot, 17 are incumbent Members standing for re-election. The 20 individuals receiving the most votes will each serve a term...

[ Read More ]
Leon Appointed to NYRA Board

Betty A. Leon Esq. has been appointed to the New York Racing Association's Board of Directors. The recommendation was made by Assemblywoman Stacey Pheffer Amato (D-South Queens), representing the 23rd district, with the final approval and official appointment made by New York State Assembly Speaker Carl Heastie. "I am proud to appoint Betty Leon to the NYRA Board of Directors because I am confident that she will be a valuable asset to the board, and that she will add much-needed diversity to the board," said Heastie. Assemblywoman Stacey Pheffer Amato...

[ Read More ]
Joe Orseno to be Interim President of Florida HBPA

The 2022 election for the board of the Florida Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association (HBPA) has concluded with trainer Joe Orseno slated to serve as interim president. He replaces Stephen Screnci, who did not run for reelection. Reelected to the board of directors are owner Adam Lazarus and trainers Orseno, Kathy Davey, and Terri Pompay. New to the board is owner David Rousso. Troy Levy and Ralph Nicks have stepped down. The remainder of the board consists of owners Chester Bishop, Thomas Cannell, and Teresa Palmer, as well as trainers...

[ Read More ]

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.