Canada's Sovereign Awards Finalists Named


Multiple Sovereign Award winner Pink Lloyd is a finalist in multiple categories | Michael Burns

The Jockey Club of Canada has announced the finalists for the 2020 Sovereign Awards, which christens Canada's champions. Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the 46th Annual Sovereign Awards Ceremony will be held virtually in April. The winners of 12 horse categories and five human categories will be crowned.

Finalists in each category follow. Champion 2-year-old female: 'TDN Rising Star' Alda (Munnings), Dreaming of Drew (Speightster), and 'TDN Rising Star' Lady Speightspeare (Speightstown); champion 2-year-old male: Gretzky the Great (Nyquist), Master Spy (Silent Name {Jpn}), Ready to Repeat (More Than Ready), and Stephen (Constitution); champion 3-year-old female: Artie's Princess (We Miss Artie), Curlin's Voyage (Curlin), and Merveilleux (Paynter); champion 3-year-old male: Belichick (Lemon Drop Kid), Mighty Heart (Dramedy), and 'TDN Rising Star' Shirl's Speight (Speightstown); champion older main track female: Painting (Distorted Humor), Souper Escape (Medaglia d'Oro), and Summer Sunday (Silent Name {Jpn}); champion older main track male: Mr Ritz (GB) (Oasis Dream {GB}), Pink Lloyd (Old Forester), and Skywire (Afleet Alex); champion female turf horse: Elizabeth Way (Ire) (Frankel {GB}), Rideforthecause (Candy Ride {Arg}), and Theodora B. (Ghostzapper); champion male turf horse: Count Again (Awesome Again), Say the Word (More Than Ready), and Silent Poet (Silent Name {Jpn}); champion female sprinter: Artie's Princess, Boardroom (Commissioner), and Lady Grace (Kantharos); and champion male sprinter: Not So Quiet (Silent Name {Jpn}), Pink Lloyd, and Silent Poet.

The outstanding broodmare category includes Count to Three (Red Ransom), Danceforthecause (Giant's Causeway), and Include Katherine (Include). Horse of the Year finalists will be announced and a winner anointed at the ceremony.

Finalists for outstanding breeder are Anderson Farms Ont., Inc, Sam-Son Farm, and Tall Oaks Farm; while outstanding owner is between Gary Barber, Live Oak Plantation, and Sam-Son Farm. Kevin Attard, Josie Carroll, and Mark Casse are up for outstanding trainer. The outstanding jockey honored will be either Rafael Manuel Hernandez, Patrick Husbands, or Justin Stein; and outstanding apprentice jockey is a three-way battle between Nikki Alderson, Maurcio Malvaez, and Edgar Zenteno.

Media award finalists will be announced later this month and crowned at the ceremony. Also announced later in February will be the winner of the outstanding groom award and a special Sovereign Award winner.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Exit Box x

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.