Texas Champions Honored With Video


Jim McIngvale | Patty Wolfe photo

The Texas Thoroughbred Association (TTA) has released a video honoring its 2020 Texas Champion racehorses as well as its human award winners. Under normal circumstances, an in-person awards ceremony would be held, but the continuing COVID-19 pandemic forced officials to cancel those plans.

“While we are disappointed in not having an awards ceremony this year, we are proud of the accomplishments of Texas-breds and Texas horsemen last year, and we are pleased to honor them with this video,” said Mary Ruyle, executive director of the TTA. “Congratulations go out to all the award winners.”

In addition to the equine honorees, businessman and philanthropist Jim 'Mattress Mack' McIngvale and Joe Straus, Jr., the co-founder of Retama Park in San Antonio, were presented with the T.I. 'Pops' Harkins Award for lifetime achievement.

The Allen Bogan Memorial Award for TTA member of the year was awarded to Bill Tracy, currently the farm manager at Eureka Thoroughbred Farm in Fredericksburg, TX, and to publicist Martha Claussen.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. How to Better Promote Racing…a Q & A with Mattress Mack
  2. Celebration for Godolphin Stud & Stable Staff Awards Winners, Finalists
  3. Kiaran McLaughlin to Receive Bill Mooney Award
  4. NTWAB to Honor McIngvale, Livingston, Lincoln, Pedulla, Welsch
  5. National Stud Diploma Graduation

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.