George Woolf Award

Parker Wins Woolf Award

Jockey DeShawn Parker, who in 2010 became the first African American rider since 1895 to lead all American jockeys in races won, has been selected by a vote of jockeys nationwide as the winner of the 2021 George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award. Presented annually by Santa Anita since 1950, the Woolf Award can only be won once. It recognizes those riders whose careers and personal character garner esteem for the individual and the sport of Thoroughbred racing. A Cincinnati, Ohio native, Parker, 50, outpolled four other Woolf finalists, Alex Birzer,...

[ Read More ]
Scott Stevens Retires

Veteran jockey Scott Stevens, one of only 35 riders in history to win in excess of 5,000 races, has announced his retirement after beining involved in a Feb. 24 spill at Turf Paradise. Stevens, 60, is the older brother of Hall of Fame rider Gary Stevens. "He had an unbelievable career and he is my hero," Gary Stevens wrote on Twitter. Stevens went down in a turf race after another horse came over on him shortly after the start. He broke two vertebrae and his ribs as a result of...

[ Read More ]
Santa Anita Announces Five Finalists for Woolf Award

Santa Anita has announced a group of five finalists for the 2021 George Woolf Memorial Jockey Award, with the winner to be announced in February. One of the most prestigious awards for American jockeys, the Woolf Award, which is determined by a vote of jockeys nationwide, can only be won once. Jockeys Alex Birzer, Jorge Martin Bourdieu, Kendrick Carmouche, Aaron Gryder and Deshawn Parker, veteran riders who have stood the test of time and have earned the respect of their peers and horsemen in various geographic regions, comprise 2021's select...

[ Read More ]

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.