INS Celebrates Class of 2021


Irish National Stud Class of 2021

The Irish National Stud Thoroughbred Breeding Course, which celebrates its 50th Anniversary this year, enjoyed a more low-key event than usual Friday, June 25 to celebrate the graduation of the class of 2021. Heading this season's award winners, Jake Scott Campbell, Co. Kildare received the Gold Medal, which is presented to someone who has demonstrated an outstanding performance in all aspects of the course. The Silver Medal being awarded to Lachlan Pethica from Australia.

The INS 'Jonathan Fitzpatrick Internship' was awarded to Benjamin Shoare from West Sussex, England, who will commence his internship with the INS in July. Alexis Navet, France, who was the recipient of the Irish Field “Blue Hen” Award, was presented with a cheque for €250 and a trophy by Leo Powell for his winning article on Blue Hen broodmares, which will be published in The Irish Field. The Veterinary Exam award was presented to Sarah Kelly, Kildare, and the CEO award for the highest score in the Equine Business exam went to Conor Mahon, Co. Kilkenny. Best Portfolio of Assignments went to Benjamin Shoare and the Continuous Assessment award was presented to Niamh Walsh, Kilrossanty, Co. Waterford.

Presented annually by the Class of 84, the John Durkan Scholarship went to Grace Kerr (Class of 2020), who will take her placement with former course graduate, horse trainer Brian Meehan. The award is granted to a student who has shown an interest in pursuing a career in training racehorses.


Patrick Campion (USA), Shea Connolly (Ireland), Marianne Gay (France), Hortense Huet (France), Suzanne Hyland (Ireland), Sarah Kelly (Ireland), Eathan Leonard (Ireland), Conor Mahon (Ireland), Olivia Marnane (Ireland), Hannah Moriarty (USA), Alexis Navet (France), Mairead O'Riordan (Ireland), George Prince (UK), Lauren Robinson (Ireland), Mehdi Saci (France), Jake Scott Campbell (Ireland), Ben Shoare (UK), Charlie Sweeney (Ireland), Niamh Walshe (Ireland), Elinor Wolf (USA), Normarie Santiago (Puerto Rico) recipient of the Gerry Dilger Equine Scholarship, Nathan Trumper (New Zealand) recipient of the NZTBA scholarship, Lachlan Pethica (Australia) and Alyssa Pickles (Australia) recipients of the Thoroughbred Breeders Australia,

Basil Nolan Jnr scholarship.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. 'We're Confident He'll Justify It' – Donohoe On Lucky Vega's Book Of Mares
  2. Yuesheng Zhang Expands String: Karl Burke To Train 20 Horses For Owner
  3. Latest Dilger Scholarships Named
  4. Top Industry Judges Have Their Say On The First-Season Sires
  5. Nando Parrrado Keeps Delivering for the McCartans

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.