TBA Flat Breeders' Awards Announced


Dubawi collected a pair of awards on the evening | Darley

The winners of the Thoroughbred Breeders' Association Flat Breeders' Awards sponsored by Fitzdares were revealed at Chippenham Park on Sept. 2. Spread across 14 categories, the best of British bloodstock was toasted at the event, which was hosted by Gina Bryce.

The Andrew Devonshire Award, which honours outstanding contribution to the industry went to Lady Emma Balding. She is the wife of former trainer Ian and mother of broadcaster Clare and Classic-winning son Andrew. Also a former TBA Trustee, Lady Balding assisted in the creation of the Retraining of Racehorses charity by obtaining a bequest from the Mellon family. Her Kingsclere Stud has been the birthplace of many stakes winners. Dalham Hall Stud's Ken Crozier won the Dominion Award. He began at the Newmarket stud in 1982.

There were two new awards: the Filly of Merit Award, which went to stakes winner and dual Group 1-placed Liberty Beach (GB) (Cable Bay {Ire}), and the Barton Stud sponsored Industry Merit Award. Highclere Stud was the recipient of the latter for its new 50/50 and Euro4Euros stallion terms. The Warren family also collected the H J Joel Silver Salver for Flat Broodmare of the Year Beach Frolic (GB) (Nayef), the dam of Palace Pier (GB) (Kingman {GB}).

The TBA Stud Employee Award, sponsored by New England Stud, went to Ron Lott. Gaie Johnson-Houghton, who bred G1 Sussex S. hero Mohaather (GB) (Showcasing {GB}), was awarded the Langham Cup as the Small Breeder of the Year. After the success of her two Group 2 winners-Nando Parrado (GB) (Kodiac {GB}) and Angel Power (GB) (Lope de Vega {Ire}), Anita Wigan received the TBA Silver Salver. Breeders Bearstone Stud were honoured with the TBA Silver Rose Bowl for TBA Flat Breeder of the Year. They enjoyed a win at the Breeders' Cup with homebred Glass Slippers (GB) (Dream Ahead) and Lullaby Moon (GB) (Belardo {Ire}), who won a Group 3 in France.

In addition to the above awards, the statistical awards, which were announced at the beginning of the year, were also presented. Besides winning the Leading British-based Flat Breeder award, Godolphin also celebrated success with flagship stallion Dubawi (Ire) (Dubai Millennium {GB}) who won both the BBA Silver Cigar Box for leading British-based Flat stallion by earnings and the Barleythorpe Stud Silver Cup, which is given for the leading British-based stallion of individual Flat winners. Rounding out the stallion awards, Adaay (Ire) (Kodiac {GB}) earned the Tattersalls Silver Salver as the leading first-season sire in Britain and Mayson (GB) (Invincible Spirit {Ire}) received the EBF Stallion Special Merit Award.

TBA Chief Executive Claire Sheppard said, “It has been fantastic to be able to recognise and celebrate the successes of British breeders in person again at tonight's Awards evening. Our sincere congratulations extend not only to the winners but also to all the nominees this evening for their outstanding achievements domestically and on the global stage. We are incredibly grateful to William Woodhams and the team at Fitzdares for their support of British thoroughbred breeding as headline event partner, and to all our event supporters.”

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Exit Box x

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.