TIEA Finalists Announced


2019 TIEA Awards Ceremony | Mathea Kelley

The finalists for the 2021 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards have been announced, including three finalists in six of the seven categories, as well as the winner and runner-up of the Thoroughbred Industry Community Award. This year's Community Award winner is Nick Caras of the New York Racetrack Chaplaincy, with Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association's Diana Pinones as runner-up.

While the 2020 awards ceremony was held virtually, the 2021 finalists will be honored during an awards ceremony at Keeneland Oct. 15. The weekend includes travel and accommodation for out-of-town finalists, a tour of a local horse farm, dinner for finalists and their connections, and the awards ceremony luncheon followed by an afternoon of racing at Keeneland.

The 2021 Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards finalists are:

Katherine McKee Administration Award
sponsored by Keeneland
Lori Johnson – The Jockey Club
Sue Kenny – Herringswell Stables
Kelsey Marshall – Eclipse Thoroughbred Partners

Support Services Award sponsored by I am Horse Racing
David Kyle – Fasig-Tipton
Katherine Todd Smith – Self-Employed, Horse Identifier
Brenda Wilhelm – Charles Town Races

Dedication to Breeding Award sponsored by Hallway Feeds
Luis Coronado – Machmer Hall
Wayne Howard – Spendthrift Farm
Calvin Smith – Runnymede Farm, PA

Dedication to Racing Award
sponsored by National Thoroughbred Racing Association
Benjamin Betts – Ocala Jockey Club, retired
Tessa Bisha – Brad H. Cox Racing
Lorita Lindemann – Joe Sharp Racing

Leadership Award
sponsored by Hagyard Equine Medical Institute
Joseph Littrell – Stone Farm
Robert Turner – Stonestreet Farms
Billy Sellers – Lane's End Farm

Newcomer Award sponsored by New York Racing Association
Emily Csenar – Taylor Made Sales Agency
Joshua McLemore – Keeneland
Olivia Desch – WinStar Farm

Thoroughbred Industry Community Award
sponsored by Churchill Downs
Winner | Nicholas Caras – New York Racetrack Chaplaincy
Runner-up | Diana Pinones – Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association

The winners of the Administration, Dedication to Breeding, Dedication to Racing, Leadership and Support Services Awards will receive a prize of $7,500, with an additional $2,500 awarded to the winner's team at their farm, stable or organization. The two runners-up in these categories will win $2,500 each, with $2,500 awarded to their farm, stable or organization.

The winner of the Newcomer Award will receive $2,000 and a five-day educational trip to Dubai, with $1,000 awarded to their team at their place of work. The two runners-up in this award will receive $1,000 each, and $1,000 will also be awarded to their farm, stable or organization.

As the winner of the Community Award, Nick Caras will receive a prize of $7,500 and an additional prize of $2,500 will be donated to the charity of his choice. Diana Pinones will receive $2,500 as the runner-up in this category.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Champion Stayer and Top NH Sire Kayf Tara Dies
  2. Keeneland Catalogs 1,509 Horses to January Sale
  3. Appleby Wins Second Consecutive Flat Trainers' Championship
  4. Cody's Wish Wins 2022 Secretariat Vox Populi Award
  5. Malavath Moyglare-Bound After Record Day at Arqana

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.