TIEA Award Winners Announced

TIEA Awards

The winners of the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards were revealed Friday during an awards ceremony at Keeneland's entertainment center. Winners were announced in a total of seven categories, including the newly added award for Support Services. Caton Bredar served as the master of ceremonies and Steve Asmussen was the guest of honor.

“We feel so fortunate to be able to once again bring all of the finalists back to an in-person event,” said Katie LaMonica, Charities Manager at Godolphin USA. “While last year's virtual ceremony still provided a platform from which we could recognize these outstanding people, it just means so much more to bring them to together and let them have their moment in the spotlight among family, friends and colleagues.”

The full list of winners and runners-up is as follows:

  • Newcomer Award, sponsored by NYRA

   Winner: Olivia Desch, Stallion Season Sales, WinStar Farm

(Runners-up: Emily Csenar Horse Healthcare Assistant, Taylor Made Farm; Joshua McLemore, Assistant Starter, Keeneland Racecourse)

  • Support Services Award, sponsored by I Am Horse Racing

Winner: Brenda Wilhelm, Operator, Charles Town Race Track Kitchen

(Runners-up: David Kyle, Plant Manager, Fasig-Tipton; Katherine Todd Smith, Horse Identifier, Self Employed)

  • Katherine McKee Administration Award sponsored by Keeneland

Winner: Kelsey Marshall, Vice President of Partner Relations, Eclipse Thoroughbred Partners

(Runners-up: Lori Johnson, Associate Registrar, The Jockey Club; Sue Kenny, Office Manager, Herringswell Stables)

  • Dedication to Breeding Award sponsored by Hallway Feeds

Winner: Calvin Smith, Assistant Broodmare Manager, Runnymede Farm, Pennsylvania

(Runners-up: Luis Coronado, Broodmare Manager, Machmer Hall Sales; Wayne Howard, Stallion Manager, Spendthrift Farm)

  • Dedication to Racing Award, sponsored by the NTRA

   Winner: Lorita Lindemann, Assistant Trainer, Joe Sharp Racing Stable and Brad H. Cox Racing Stable

(Runners-up: Benjamin “Benny” Betts, Training Manager, retired Ocala Jockey Club; Tessa Bisha, Assistant Trainer, Brad H. Cox Racing Stable)

  • Leadership Award, sponsored by Hagyard Equine Medical Institute

Winner: Robert Turner, Yearling Farm Manager, Stonestreet Farm

(Runners-up: Billy Sellers, Stallion Manager, Lane's End Farm; Joseph Littrell, Farm Manager, Stone Farm)

  • Dr. J. David “Doc” Richardson Community Award, sponsored by Churchill Downs

Winner: Nicholas Caras, Program Director, New York Race Track Chaplaincy

(Runner-up: Diana Pinones, Director of Racetrack Operations, Maryland Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association)

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. 40th TDN Rising Star For Dubawi As Ancient Truth Fires
  2. Shamardal's Diamond Rain Too Good In Newbury's Oaks Trial
  3. Kingman's Devoted Queen Remains Undefeated After York Triumph
  4. Appleby On Weather Watch For Dante Contender Ancient Wisdom
  5. Notable Speech On Course for St James's Palace

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.