TIEA Award Winners Announced

Wayne Clem

The winner of the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards were announced via a virtual ceremony Thursday, hosted by Studio 46 Media in Lexington, Kentucky. Jill Byrne, Vice President of Racing Operations at Colonial Downs, was once again the master of ceremonies. The Awards are sponsored by Godolphin in partnership with the National HBPA, TOBA, The Jockey Club, and Breeders' Cup. Media partners are the TDN, BloodHorse Publications, Daily Racing Form, The Paulick Report, Fox Sports and TVG.

Jimmy Bell, President of Godolphin in America commented, “The Covid-19 pandemic has affected everyone's lives in so many ways. But in our industry, we are all very fortunate to have an enormous group of talented and dedicated frontline workers who have continued their hard work, often requiring endless hours, to provide the care for our equine athletes. The Thoroughbred business could not function without them and we truly appreciate what they do.”

The full list of winners is as follows:

Administration Award

Winner: Dionne Johnson, Business Manager, New York Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association, Inc. (NYTHA)

(Runners-up: Lynelle Fox Smith, Executive Director, Oregon Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association; Michele Holbrook, Office Manager, Silver Springs Stud)


Dedication to Breeding Award

Winner: Helen Otero, Stallion Administrator, Coolmore America

(Runners-up: David Kyle, Plant Manager, Fasig-Tipton Company, Inc.; Steve Avery, General Farm Manager, Taylor Made Sales Agency)


Dedication to Racing Award

Winner: Gregory Smothers, Head Rider, Niall Brennan Stables

(Runners-up: Marcelo Arenas, Assistant Trainer, Leah Gyarmati Stables; Patrick “Shawn” Autry, Assistant Stable Manager, McPeek Racing)


Leadership in Breeding Award

Winner: Wayne Clem, Assistant Yearling Manager, Claiborne Farm

(Runners-up: Matt Lyons, VP and COO, Candy Meadows Farm; Christy Holden, General Manager, Country Life Farm LLP)

Leadership in Racing Award

Winner: Carmen McShane, Assistant Trainer, D/M Racing

(Runners-up: Roy Smith, Track Superintendent, Indiana Grand Racing and Casino; Cindy Hutter, Assistant Trainer, George Weaver Racing)


Newcomer Award

Winner: Aaron West, Racing Operations Manager, Bradley Thoroughbreds LLC

(Runners-up: Robert Cole, Intern/Co-op Program Student, Florida Thoroughbred Breeders' and Owners' Association; Alexis Kolasa, Administrative Assistant, Denali Stud)


Community Award

Winner: Maria Cristina Silva, Backstretch Program Coordinator, New York Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Encino Takes to Dirt, Wires Stonestreet Lexington
  2. Master Of The Seas A Convincing Winner of the Maker's Mark Mile
  3. Jefferson Street Impressive For Godolphin In Sloppy Keeneland Graduation
  4. Laurel River Leads Latest Longines World's Best Racehorse Rankings
  5. Cody's Wish Named KTOB Horse of the Year

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.