Shergar Cup Teams Confirmed


Mickaelle Michel will ride for the Ladies Team | Ascot Racecourse

The four teams for Saturday's Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup jockey competition at Ascot have been confirmed, with three jockeys comprising each team. This year's Derby winning jockey Adam Kirby will captain Team Great Britain, on which he will be joined by Cieren Fallon and James Doyle. This year's G1 Gold Cup-winning rider Joe Fanning leads Team Ireland, which is also made up of David Egan and Tadhg O'Shea. Hayley Turner, the most successful rider in the history of the Shergar Cup, captains the Ladies Team which also includes Mickaelle Michel and Nicola Currie. Sean Levey, winner of the G1 Falmouth S. aboard Snow Lantern (GB) (Frankel {GB}) last month, in joined on the Rest of the World Team by Kevin Stott and Andrea Atzeni.

Nick Smith, director of racing and public affairs at Ascot Racecourse, said, “We're thrilled with the jockey line up for the Dubai Duty Free Shergar Cup this year. Obviously COVID-19 has made international travel very difficult so to pull together such a strong set of teams that still has a global feel is really pleasing. It should be a great day's racing and another thrilling renewal of the competition which sadly didn't take place last year but we look forward to building the day back up in the years to come.”

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Murphy Signs for Scotland, Osborne Returns for Wales and The West
  2. An American Dream: The Return To Royal Ascot Launched By GBRI
  3. Alastair Warwick Appointed Ascot CEO
  4. Kevin Stott Named Retained Rider For Amo Racing
  5. Algiers Just The Fifth Horse To Take First Two Rounds Of Al Maktoum Challenge

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.