Racing League Jockeys Revealed


Hollie Doyle | Scoop Dyga

Several big names have been added to the upcoming Racing League competition this summer. Frankie Dettori, Oisin Murphy, Jim Crowley and Hollie Doyle are all set to take part.

Dettori is part of the Newmarket team, along with fellow riders Jamie Spencer and Luke Morris, who are paired with trainers John Gosden, Sir Mark Prescott, Robert Cowell and David Simcock. Murphy, Hayley Turner and Sean Levey are riding for Andrew Balding and Richard Hannon.

Murphy said, “This is an exciting innovation and considering the prize money there should be fierce competition between the teams. I look forward to being involved.”

Turner added, “It's great that the racing industry has decided to try something a bit different. I know the jockeys and the trainers are all really excited. I think it will help to capture a non-racing audience and be a fun event all round.”

The trio of Jim Crowley, Hector Crouch and Pat Cosgrave will ride for trainers George Baker, David Menuisier, Gary Moore and Amanda Perrett. Meanwhile, Doyle, Jack Mitchell and Cieren Fallon team up with another Newmarket training team consisting of Michael Bell, Ed Dunlop, James Fanshawe and Roger Varian.

Ireland is represented by David Egan, Gavin Ryan and Dylan Browne McMonagle for O'Brien brothers Donnacha and Joseph. However, Team France is in a holding pattern, as confirmation of regulations surrounding Brexit and the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic is still needed before announcing their nominated jockeys.

The Racing League competition limits each jockey to 18 of the 36 races in the competition. There is also £50,000 on offer to the three jockeys that score the most points in the competition. The 12 teams will compete at six meetings of six races apiece over six consecutive Thursdays in the summer beginning at Newcastle on July 29. Points are available from first to 10th in each race, and the highest scoring team throughout the competition wins the league.

Oli Harris, the Racing League's Chief Marketing Officer, said “We're delighted that the teams have now confirmed their jockeys. The likes of Hollie, Oisin and Frankie will no doubt grab the headlines, but we are also excited to have some of the most talented up and coming jockeys in UK and Ireland on board, as well as experienced campaigners such as Paul Hanagan, Martin Dwyer and Jamie Spencer. This is an important step in painting a complete picture of the Racing League.

“We will follow this by announcing the principal naming partner of each team, before the 30 horses in each team's squad are selected in July.”

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Exit Box x