ITBA National Breeding and Racing Awards Announced


JP McManusRacing Post

The 2019 ITBA National Breeding & Racing Awards were held at The Heritage Killenard in Co. Laois, Ireland on Jan. 25. Over 370 people attended the awards, which honour the achievements of Irish breeders and Irish-bred horses on the Flat and in the National Hunt sphere in 2019. Among the notable honourees, JP McManus was inducted into the ITBA Hall of Fame, while the inaugural ITBA Next Generation award was given to Joanne Lavery. The complete list of the 2019 winners is as follows:

  • ITBA Next Generation: Joanne Lavery
  • Young National Hunt Horse: Gypsy Island (Ire) (Jeremy) B-Rosetown Bloodstock
  • Novice Hurdler: City Island (Ire) (Court Cave {Ire}) B-Kenneth Parkhill
  • Novice Chaser: Lostintranslation (Ire) (Flemensfirth) B-Andrew Kavanagh
  • Hurdler: Paisley Park (Ire) (Oscar {Ire}) B-Michael Conaghan
  • Chaser: Altior (Ire) (High Chaparral {Ire}) B- Paddy Behan
  • Small Breeder: Paddy Kelly
  • 2yo Filly: Millisle (Ire) (Starspangledbanner{Aus}) B-Stonethorn Stud Farms Ltd
  • 2yo Colt: Pinatubo (Ire) (Shamardal) B-Godolphin
  • 3yo Filly: Iridessa (Ire) (Ruler of the World {Ire}) B-Whisperview Trading Ltd
  • 3yo Filly: Search For A Song (Ire) (Galileo {Ire}) B-Moyglare Stud Farm Ltd
  • 3yo Colt: Ten Sovereigns (Ire) (No Nay Never) B-Camas Park, Lynch Bages & Summerhill
  • Wild Geese: Mags O’Toole
  • Life Time Achievement: Philip Myerscough

Hall of Fame: JP McManus

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.