Farm Workers Scholarships Announced


Since 1996, the children of Central Kentucky farm workers have received almost $1.5 million in scholarships | Horsephotos

Twenty-nine scholarships have been awarded for the 2018-2019 school year by the Horse Farm Workers' Educational Assistance Fund. Since inception in 1996, the Fund has awarded 658 annual scholarships totaling $1,442,026 to children of full-time horse farm workers in central Kentucky.

Scholarships are awarded for education or skill training after high school and are based upon financial need, merit, biographical essays, and personal interviews. Scholarships are also available for full-time horse farm workers in central Kentucky who wish to take equine-related training or courses to help them be more knowledgeable and effective while working with Thoroughbred horses.

Qualifying parents of scholars are employed full-time by one of the following central Kentucky Thoroughbred farms: Ashview, Betz Thoroughbreds (2), Bradley Farm and Racing, Brownwood, Chesapeake, Denali, Don Alberto, Godolphin USA (10), Hermitage (3), Indian Ridge, Magdalena, Parkland Farm, Oliver Racing, Shawnee Farm, Spendthrift, Stock Place Farm, Stoneview (2), and Upson Downs.

“Looking back over 50 years in the horse industry, my association with so many amazing scholars and the wonderful volunteer Board members stands out as the highlight of my long career with horses,” said outgoing president Rob Whiteley, who will stay on as a member of the board. “This Fund recognizes and pays tribute to farm workers who are the backbone of our breeding industry and provide the foundation for racing across America. In short, these young people and parents are an industry treasure. Year after year I am struck with how the parents of these scholars have instilled an incredible work ethic into their children. These outstanding young scholars consistently impress the Board with their ability, motivation, energy, enthusiasm, and accomplishments. Frequently, our scholars are the first in their families to pursue secondary education. Some of them would not be able to succeed without our assistance.”

Continued Whiteley, “Many of our scholars work 20 or more hours per week at one or more jobs while carrying a full course load. Our main goal while helping these great young people pursue their dreams is to award enough money so that they can make school work their number one priority without incurring a huge burden of long-term student loan debt.”

Co-Founder Tom Evans was elected president of the Fund, while Dan Pride was elected vice president. Mary Ryan and Stu Pollard were also named to the board, joining Whiteley, Judge Wilson, Chet Blackey, and coordinator Mary Stuart.

Said Evans, “We are very grateful to many contributors who have so generously supported and valued this Fund. Contributors include the Carl Pollard Foundation, Kentucky Thoroughbred Farm Managers Club, Kentucky Owners and Breeders, KTA, Thoroughbred Charities of America, Godolphin, Fasig Tipton, Keeneland, Hill 'n' Dale Farm, Race For Education, the Crafty Prospector Syndicate, W.T. Young, The Hilary Boone Foundation, William Marquard, and many other individual donors.”

Donations to the organization, a 501(c)3, are tax deductible and may be sent to HFWEAF, 2938 Four Pines Drive, Lexington, KY, 40502. As all officers and Board members serve on a volunteer basis, over 90% of donor monies flow through to scholarship recipients. Applications are available in April with a July 1 deadline. In-person interviews with the board are held during mid-July. For more information, call 859-269-1719 or visit

Riley Alexander – Eastern KY U
Patrick Autry – Chase Law School – NKU
Wally Bober – U of Kentucky
Abby Branham – Murray State U
Danielle Burkhead – KY Wesleyan U
Andres Calleja – BCTC*
Sofia Calleja – U of Louisvill
Caleb Carr – Transylvania U
Ciara Farrell – Georgetown College
Sarah Farrell – U of Kentucky
Audrey Francis – U of Kentucky
Eduardo Garcia – Eastern KY U
Dylan Gilbert – Murray State U
Trenton Gilbert – U of NW Ohio
Yigit Guvercin – UK – Gatton College
Jayden Hamilton – Campbellsville U
Alex Hernandez – U of Kentucky
Karina Hernandez – BCTC*
Juan Hernandez – U of Kentucky
Ruth Hughes – U of Notre Dame
Lupe Macias – U of Kentucky
Peyton Mathes – Centre College
Mauri Nevarez – Midway U
Claire Nickell – Asbury U
Alondra Perez-Islas – JCTC**
Caleb Reams – Asbury U
Joshua Reams – Liberty U
Leslee Tapia Reyna – Indiana U Southeast
Kenzie Trent – Asbury U

*Bluegrass Community and Technical College
**Jefferson Community and Technical College

Four Horse Farm scholarship recipients also distinguish themselves as Pollard Scholars at the University of Kentucky: Sarah Farrell, Audrey Francis, Wally Bober, and Lupe Macias.


Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.


Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.