BASET Thoroughbred Endeavour Awards Announced

Grace McBeath | BASET

The new BASET Thoroughbred Endeavour Awards were announced by The British-Australia Society Education Trust (BASET), in partnership with Godolphin, the British Racing School (BRS), and Thoroughbred Industry Careers (TIC) on Thursday. The awards support deserving young people from Britain and Australia embarking on careers in the equine and racing industries.

The first recipient is Grace McBeath, who is from New South Wales, Australia. The aim of the programme is to offer participants the chance to further develop their career, gain new skills and experience international practices on a six-month exchange programme. The inaugural award will provide funding to support a six-month racing stable placement organised by The British Racing School which will involve working for Sir Mark Prescott at Heath House Stables and Andrew Balding at Kingsclere Park House Stables. Later this year, the opportunity will be reciprocated and a second BASET Thoroughbred Endeavour Award will be made to support a young person from Great Britain in Australia, arranged by the TIC.

John May, BASET's Chair of Trustees, said, “We are thrilled to have partnered with The British Racing School and Thoroughbred Industry Careers to create this incredible opportunity for our award winners, helping them to gain international experience working in racing. We hope this exciting initiative will mark the start of a long-term collaboration between our organisations to support deserving young people from Britain and Australia and strengthen the bilateral bond between the two countries. I would like to thank all the hard work done by Jim Paltridge on behalf of BASET and Diana Cooper of Godolphin, along with Andrew Brathwaite of BRS and Lindy Maurice from TIC in making this award happen.”

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Irish Thoroughbred Industry Employee Award Winners Announced
  2. Caramel Swirl Wins Gallant Bloom S. After Double Disqualification
  3. American Champion Modern Games To Stand At Dalham Hall Next Year
  4. Bloom, McLoughlin Join Tattersalls, McKibbin Promoted
  5. Making Waves: A Masterful 56 For Dubawi

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.