2022 Eclipse Awards Finalists Named

Eclipse Award | Horsephotos

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB) today announced the finalists for the 2022 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing.

Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced on FanDuel TV, and other outlets, during the 52nd annual Eclipse Awards, presented by John Deere, Keeneland, and The Jockey Club,  on Thursday, Jan. 26 at 7:30 p.m. ET. The evening will culminate with the announcement of the 2022 Horse of the Year.

Of the 258 eligible voters represented by the NTRA, consisting of member racetrack racing officials and Equibase field personnel, the NTWAB, and Daily Racing Form, 246 (95.3%) took part in the voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters' top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first-place votes.

The 2022 Eclipse Awards Finalists, with the exception of Horse of the Year, (in alphabetical order) are:

Two-Year-Old Male: Cave Rock (Arrogate), Forte (Violence), Victoria Road (Ire) (Saxon Warrior {Jpn})

Two-Year-Old Filly: Leave No Trace (Outwork), Meditate (Ire) (No Nay Never), Wonder Wheel (Into Mischief)

Three-Year-Old Male: Epicenter (Not This Time), Modern Games (Ire) (Dubawi {Ire}), Taiba (Gun Runner)

Three-Year-Old Filly: Nest (Curlin), Secret Oath (Arrogate), Tuesday (Ire) (Galileo {Ire})

Older Dirt Male: Flightline (Tapit), Life Is Good (Into Mischief), Olympiad (Speightstown)

Older Dirt Female: Clairiere (Curlin), Goodnight Olive (Ghostzapper), Malathaat (Curlin)

Male Sprinter: Cody's Wish (Curlin), Elite Power (Curlin), Jackie's Warrior (Maclean's Music)

Female Sprinter: Caravel (Mizzen Mast), Echo Zulu (Gun Runner), Goodnight Olive (Ghostzapper)

Male Turf Horse: Modern Games (Ire) (Dubawi {Ire}), Nations Pride (Ire) (Teofilo {Ire}), Rebel's Romance (Ire) (Dubawi {Ire})

Female Turf Horse: In Italian (GB) (Dubawi {Ire}), Regal Glory (Animal Kingdom), War Like Goddess (English Channel)

Steeplechase Horse: Down Royal (Alphabet Soup), Hewick (Ire) (Virtual {GB}), Snap Decision (Hard Spun)

Owner: Peter Brant, Godolphin LLC, Klaravich Stables Inc.

Breeder: Godolphin LLC, Stonestreet Thoroughbred Holdings LLC, Summer Wind Equine LLC

Trainer: Steve Asmussen, Chad Brown, Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Irad Ortiz, Jr., Flavien Prat, Joel Rosario

Apprentice Jockey: Jeiron Barbosa, Vicente Del-Cid, Jose Antonio Gomez

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, David Harrison will receive the Eclipse Award as the 2022 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Eclipse Awards voting is conducted by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB), the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), and Daily Racing Form. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is produced by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire, Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Copy Article Link

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Champion Kalanisi Dies at 27
  2. Caravel Named 2022 Pennsylvania Horse of the Year
  3. Remi And Pierre (Peb) Bellocq Join The TDN Writers' Room Podcast
  4. Horse of the Year Havre de Grace Passes Away
  5. Racehorse Tax Incentive Bills Reintroduced

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.