Tiz the Law Named NY-Bred Horse of the Year


Tiz the Law | Ryan Thompson

Sackatoga Stable’s Tiz the Law (Constitution) was remotely crowned 2019 New York-Bred Horse of the Year and champion 2-year-old male Monday, the same day the New York Thoroughbred Breeders was to host its annual awards banquet at the Saratoga National Golf Club. The live event was canceled due to the coronavirus crisis.

Bred by Twin Creeks Farm, which raced leading first-crop sire Constitution in partnership with WinStar Farm, Tiz the Law was a  $110,000 graduate of the 2018 Fasig-Tipton New York-Bred Sale and broke his maiden by 4 1/4 lengths at first asking in restricted company before walloping open rivals by four lengths in the GI Champagne S. He closed the season with a troubled third in the GII Kentucky Jockey Club S. The blaze-faced bay has cemented his status as a leading candidate for the GI Kentucky Derby in two starts this term, annexing the GIII Holy Bull S. by three lengths Feb. 1 ahead of a 4 1/4-length tally in the GI Curlin Florida Derby Mar. 28. Tiz the Law’s Grade II-winning dam Tizfiz (Tiznow) was named Broodmare of the Year.

In lieu of the live awards ceremony, NYTB published the list of state-bred champions to its website (www.nytbreeders.org) and social media channels Monday morning. NYTB simultaneously launched a microsite (www.nytbawards.com) to host a video presentation produced by PM Advertising, including top performances from all nominees while showcasing the winners. A commemorative program, produced by ST Publishing, is being mailed to all NYTB members.

Other divisional winners are as follows:

Horse of the Year, Champion 2YO Male
TIZ THE LAW (Constitution)

Champion 2YO Filly
CRITICAL VALUE (Bodemeister)

Champion 3YO Make

Champion 3YO Filly
NEWLY MINTED (Central Banker)

Champion Older Dirt Male
MR. BUFF (Friend or Foe)

Champion Older Dirt Female, Female Sprinter

Champion Male Sprinter

Champion Turf Male

Champion Turf Female
FIFTY FIVE (Get Stormy)

Broodmare of the Year
TIZFIZ (Tiznow)

Trainer of the Year: Linda Rice
Jockey of the Year: Manuel Franco
Breeder of the Year: Chester and Mary Broman

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.