Runhappy Travers Returns to FOX Sports


Saratoga | Sarah Andrew

For the second consecutive year, the $1-million GI Runhappy Travers S. at Saratoga will be televised live on the FOX Sports broadcast network as part of a 1 1/2-hour telecast from 5:00-6:30 p.m. ET Saturday.

Post time for the 151st running of the Runhappy Travers, featuring a showdown between GI Belmont S. winner Tiz the Law (Constitution) and the unbeaten Bob Baffert-trained Uncle Chuck (Uncle Mo), is scheduled for 6:15 p.m. ET.

An expanded Runhappy Travers Day edition of Saratoga Live, presented by America's Best Racing, Runhappy and Claiborne Farm, will air nationally on FS1 beginning at 11:30 a.m. ET.

Coverage and analysis of the day's races then shifts to FS2 beginning at 3:00 p.m. ET and continues throughout the afternoon on FS1/FS2.

The complete Runhappy Travers broadcast can also be viewed live on the TDN homepage at

With this year's Saratoga summer meet currently closed to spectators, Saturday's Runhappy Travers Day coverage on Saratoga Live will leverage 32 cameras at various locations throughout the property to capture all the action. The broadcast will also include the introduction of the “WinStar Cam,” which will provide in-race aerial coverage throughout the day.

“This exceeds the amount of cameras that you would see during a major league baseball telecast, college basketball, college football,” Tony Allevato, President of NYRA Bets & Executive Producer for NYRA TV, said on a conference call Thursday afternoon. “We're excited. We've got a good show ahead of us. It's a unique year across the country and it's a unique year for horse racing with the Triple Crown being run out of order and the Travers being run in the middle of the Triple Crown. It's really an unprecedented time, but it's also made for some great story lines, and hopefully we'll be able to convey that on the show.”

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Exit Box x

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.