McPeek Racing's Shawn Autry Named Finalist for Dedication to Racing Award


Shawn Autry | Courtesy of TIEA

Congratulations to Patrick 'Shawn' Autry, one of three finalists in the Dedication to Racing Award category of the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards (TIEA), presented by Godolphin. Currently the assistant stable manager for McPeek Racing and Kenny McPeek's Magdalena Farm, Autry got his first pony, named Fireball, when he was just five before moving on to breaking and exercise riding at a young age. He took out his trainer's license in 1981 at the age of 19. A 1994 accident while working a horse left him paralyzed, but he still dabbled in the horse business while then pursuing a computer career. Autry eventually joined McPeek full-time in the office in 2009.

“Shawn and I go back at least 35 years. I remember when he was one of the best exercise riders around,” said McPeek. “He's worked for me since we opened Magdalena Farm. He knows the ins and the outs of this business like no one else and loves it, he has certainly dedicated his life to it. His passion for the horse business will never end.”

Click for the video feature on Autry done by TIEA.

Other finalists for the Dedication to Racing Award are Gregory Smothers of Niall Brennan Stables and Marcelo Arenas of Leah Gyarmati Stables. The Dedication to Racing Award is presented annually to an individual who has been in the Thoroughbred racing industry for at least 10 years and is a pivotal part of his or her employer's success.

A total of seven award categories will be honored by TIEA for 2020. Maria Cristina Silva of New York Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association (NYTHA) has already been announced as the winner of the Community Award, while the winners in the other categories will be announced live in a virtual ceremony hosted by Jill Byrne and streamed at the TDN homepage Thursday, Nov. 5, at 12:00 p.m. ET. All finalists will be spotlighted in TDN in the days leading up to the ceremony.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Godolphin Announces 2022 TIEA Award Winners
  2. Finalists Announced for 2022 TIEA Awards
  3. TIEA Award Nominations Open
  4. TIEA Award Winners Announced
  5. TIEA Award To Honor Richardson

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.