Marcelo Arenas of Leah Gyarmati Stables Named Finalist for Dedication to Racing Award


Marcelo Arenas | Courtesy of TIEA

Congratulations to Marcelo Arenas, one of three finalists in the Dedication to Racing Award category of the Thoroughbred Industry Employee Awards (TIEA), presented by Godolphin. Currently the assistant trainer at Leah Gyarmati Stables, Arenas is originally from Chile, where both his father and his grandfather were trainers. He moved to the U.S. two decades ago and worked his way through the ranks of walking hots, grooming, and being a foreman before finally becoming an assistant trainer. He spent 15 years with Gary Contessa before moving to Gyarmati's barn five years ago. Arenas says horses are his passion and the barn is his second home.

“He is truly an asset to my barn and in these difficult times I don't know how I would have made it without him,” said Gyarmati. “His experience and, most importantly, his desire to learn and expand his knowledge in the industry is impressive. His love for the game is evident in everything he does.”

Click for the video feature on Arenas done by TIEA.

Other finalists for the Dedication to Racing Award are Gregory Smothers of Niall Brennan Stables and Shawn Autry of McPeek Racing, who will be recognized on these pages tomorrow. The Dedication to Racing Award is presented annually to an individual who has been in the Thoroughbred racing industry for at least 10 years and is a pivotal part of his or her employer's success.

A total of seven award categories will be honored by TIEA for 2020. Maria Cristina Silva of New York Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association (NYTHA) has already been announced as the winner of the Community Award, while the winners in the other categories will be announced live in a virtual ceremony hosted by Jill Byrne and streamed at the TDN homepage Thursday, Nov. 5, at 12:00 p.m. ET. All finalists will be spotlighted in TDN in the days leading up to the ceremony.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.

Liked this article? Read more like this.

  1. Finalists Announced for 2022 TIEA Awards
  2. TIEA Award Nominations Open
  3. TIEA Award Winners Announced
  4. TIEA Award To Honor Richardson
  5. TIEA Award Winners Announced

Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.