Breeders’ Cup Announces Board Candidates


Breeders’ Cup trophy | Horsephotos

The Breeders’ Cup has released the names of the candidates standing for election to the organization’s Board of Directors. The election will be conducted online from July 2 until 5 p.m. July 10. There are seven seats open on the 14-person Board of Directors and eight candidates have been nominated to fill those open seats. Four candidates will be elected to fill a four-year term, two candidates will be elected to fill a two-year term and one candidate will be elected to fill a one-year term. The terms will be filled in the order of the candidates receiving the most votes with the candidate receiving the second-lowest number of votes filling the one-year term.

The candidates are as follows (listed alphabetically): Barbara Banke, Stonestreet Farm; Alan Cooper, Flaxman Holdings; Bill Farish, Lane’s End Farm; Walker Hancock, Claiborne Farm; Gavin Murphy, SF Bloodstock; Dan Pride, Godolphin; Alex Solis II, Solis/Litt Bloodstock; and Elliott Walden, WinStar Farm.

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.