Boat Racing Named New Owner of the Year


Boat Racing Partners | Courtesy Patrick O'Neill

Eric Armagost, Daniel Giovacchini, Reiley Higgins, Patrick O'Neill and Alex Quoyeser's Boat Racing has been named OwnerView's 2021 New Owner of the Year, sponsored by 1/ST RACING. Boat Racing is best known Hot Rod Charlie (Oxbow), a leading sophomore of this year who took the GI Pennsylvania Derby and GII Louisiana Derby after finishing second in last year's GI TVG Breeders' Cup Juvenile Presented by TAA.

The group of college friends from Brown University have used their runners' earnings to support philanthropic causes as well, contributing funds to and raising awareness for the Melanoma Research Alliance (MRA), Jake Panus Scholarship Fund, and Jake Panus Walk-on Football Endowed Scholarship.

“Boat Racing has brought infectious enthusiasm to our sport as well as inspiring generosity for worthy causes,” said Gary Falter, project manager for OwnerView. “OwnerView is proud to recognize a new and youthful ownership group that has not only experienced success at the highest levels of horse racing, but has also given back to the community.”

“We could not be more pleased to be honored with this prestigious award and are cognizant of the much more deserving, rare company that have won before us,” said Patrick O'Neill, nephew of trainer Doug O'Neill. “The initial idea amongst us five was always to participate in this incredible sport we all have fallen in love with and utilize the amazing environment it provides to create memories to last us a lifetime. We had no inkling that this simple idea would ever take us to the pinnacle of the sport, which is why it was so important for us to pivot our fortunes into something bigger and beyond ourselves through MRA and the memory of Jake Panus. At the end of the day, all credit for this privilege goes to Doug O'Neill and his entire team, our incredible co-owners in Roadrunner Racing, Bill Strauss, and Gainesway Farm, and our amazing equine friend in Hot Rod Charlie.”

The New Owner of the Year Award has been previously presented to MyRacehorse, Larry Best, the Churchill Downs Racing Club, Charles and Susan Chu, LNJ Foxwoods, and Sol Kumin. The Boat Racing partners will be presented with their award during the final panel of the 2021 Thoroughbred Owner Conference series, which will be held Tuesday, December 7, at 2 p.m. ET.


Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.


Never miss another story from the TDN

Click Here to sign up for a free subscription.