Bravo to receive Venezia Award


Joe Bravo | Coady

Joe Bravo is the 2018 recipient of the Mike Venezia Memorial Award, which honors jockeys who exemplify extraordinary sportsmanship and citizenship, NYRA announced Wednesday. Bravo will be presented with the award May 28 after the third race at Belmont Park.
“Honestly, it’s such an honor to be able to receive this award,” said Bravo. “I’m shocked it wasn’t a four person dead-head, because each of the guys I was nominated with are all great and deserving to win as well. When you look at the some of the past winners of this award, including Hall of Famers like Angel Cordero, Jr., Ramon Dominguez and Edgar Prado. It’s truly an honor.”
Previous winners of the award include Mario Pino (2016), Jon Court (2015), Hall of Famer John Velazquez (2014) and Hall of Famer Ramon Dominguez (2013).

Not a subscriber? Click here to sign up for the daily PDF or alerts.